

Ref.: SCBD/CPU/DC/WM/TS/KG/PS/RKi/91865

12 September 2024

NOTIFICATION

Invitation to prepare for the nomination and election of members of the Compliance Committees under the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety and under the Nagoya Protocol on Access and Benefit-Sharing

Dear Sir or Madam,

In December 2022, at part II of the tenth meeting of the Conference of the Parties serving as the meeting of the Parties (COP-MOP) to the Cartagena Protocol and the fourth meeting of the COP-MOP to the Nagoya Protocol, the respective bodies extended the terms of some members of each of the Compliance Committees under the Protocols until December 2024. Due to the suspension of the meetings, the elections to fill the other seats on the Committees could not take place. To enable the Committees to continue to function, the Bureau extended the terms of the members until December 2024. It also extended the terms of the two observers from indigenous peoples and local communities on the Compliance Committee under the Nagoya Protocol.

As a result, the terms of all fifteen members of the Compliance Committee under the Cartagena Protocol, as well as the terms of all fifteen members and the two observers from indigenous peoples and local communities of the Compliance Committee under the Nagoya Protocol are now due to end on 31 December 2024.

When the Committees were first established, the terms of their members were staggered so that not all members were up for election at the same time. The staggering of terms helps to ensure a balance between new members and continuing members, thereby facilitating continuity in the consideration of matters by the respective Committees. In order to maintain the staggering of terms, it is proposed that, at their upcoming meetings, the respective COP-MOPs decide to extend for two years, until 31 December 2026, the terms of five members (one from each region) of each Committee.

The respective COP-MOPs will therefore each be invited to elect two members per region per Committee to serve a four-year term until 31 December 2028. Indigenous peoples and local communities are also invited to make nominations of two observers to be elected by COP-MOP 5 of the Nagoya Protocol for a full term of four years.

In light of the above, it is my pleasure to invite regional groups to consult within their regions and to come to COP-MOP 11 of the Cartagena Protocol and COP-MOP 5 of the Nagoya Protocol in Calí, Colombia, prepared to make nominations of suitable candidates for election to serve on the respective Compliance Committees for full four-year terms. Indigenous peoples and local communities are also invited to consult among themselves to come to COP-MOP 5 of the Nagoya Protocol prepared to make nominations of two suitable candidates for election to serve as observers to the Compliance Committee under the Nagoya Protocol. To facilitate consultations, a list of members whose seats are proposed for extension, and of those whose seats are up for election is provided in the annex.

In addition, further to section B, paragraph 3 of the compliance procedures and mechanisms for the Nagoya Protocol, each region and the indigenous peoples and local communities are invited to consult and come prepared to Cali to nominate an alternate member to be elected by the COP-MOP. These alternates are in case a member or observer resigns or is unable to complete their term of office.

To: National focal points to the Cartagena and Nagoya Protocols, CBD national focal points (where CPB and ABS NFPs have not yet been designated), indigenous peoples and local communities and members of the Compliance Committees under the Cartagena and Nagoya Protocols







I kindly remind Parties and representatives of indigenous peoples and local communities that members and observers serve in the Compliance Committees in their personal capacity. In accordance with the respective procedures and mechanisms on compliance, nominees should have recognized competence as follows:

- (a) Members of the Compliance Committee under the Cartagena Protocol "shall have recognized competence in the field of biosafety or other relevant fields, including legal or technical expertise".
- (b) Members of the Compliance Committee under the Nagoya Protocol as well as the representatives of indigenous peoples and local communities "shall have recognized competence, including technical, legal or scientific expertise in the fields covered by the Protocol, such as genetic resources and traditional knowledge associated with genetic resources".

Parties and representatives of indigenous peoples and local communities are also invited to consider gender balance in making nominations.

The names and curriculum vitae of nominees should be submitted to the Secretariat by e-mail to secretariat@cbd.int, as soon as possible following the opening of the meetings in Cali.

Please accept, Sir, Madam, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Astrid Schomaker Executive Secretary

Annex

Members of the Compliance Committees under the Cartagena Protocol and under the Nagoya Protocol

A. Members whose terms are proposed to be extended until 31 December 2026

		Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety	Nagoya Protocol on Access and Benefit-Sharing
REGION	African States	Mr. Mahaman Gado Zaki	Mr. William Etim Okon
	Asia- Pacific States	Mr. Achmad Gusman Siswandi	Mr. Tianbao Qin
	Eastern European States	Mr. Martin Batic	Mr. Elzbieta Martyniuk
	Latin American and Caribbean States	Ms. Georgina Catacora Vargas	Ms. Teresa Dolores Cruz Sardiñas
	Western European and Other States	Mr. Michelangelo Lombardo	Mr. Marcus Schroeder

B. Members whose terms will end on 31 December 2024

Members may serve up to two consecutive terms. The members listed in the table are eligible for re-election unless otherwise indicated.

		Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety	Nagoya Protocol on Access and Benefit-Sharing
REGION	African States	Mr. Rigobert Ntep	Ms. Betty Kauna Schroder
		Mr. Dorington Ogoyi	Ms. El Khitma El Awad Mohammed
	Asia-Pacific	Ms. Marie Lorelie Agbagala	Mr. Belal Alhayek
	States	Ms. Yan Liu	Mr. Park Won Seog
	Eastern European States	Ms. Dubravka Stepic (has served two consecutive terms, not eligible for re-election)	Ms. Elena Makeyeva (has served two consecutive terms, not eligible for reelection)
		Ms. Klodiana Marika	Mr. Dilovarsho Dustzoda
	Latin American and Caribbean	Ms. Jimena Nieto Carrasco (has served two consecutive terms, not eligible for re-election)	Ms. Yolanda Otavalo Cacoango
	States	Mr. Malachy Dottin	Ms. Micaela Bonafina
	Western European and Other States	Mr. Andreas Heissenberger	Mr. Gaute Hanssen
		Mr. Casper Linnestad	Ms. Salomé Sidler
Indi	genous Peoples	Not applicable	Ms. Jennifer Tauli Corpuz
and local communities		The approach	Ms. Yeshing Juliana Upún Yos